I m proud to believe in hindu religion......

Treta Yuga

Treta Yuga

TRETA YUGA - also called the silver age, lasts 1,296,000 years and the process of self realization is the performance of opulent yajnas(sacrifices). The average life span is 10,000 years and the godly qualities decrease one fourth compared to the Satya yuga.
It is during this age that Varna-asrama-dharma is introduced.


Treta Yuga (त्रेता युग) is the second out of four yugas, or ages of mankind, in the religion of Hinduism, and follows the Satya Yuga of perfect morality and precedes the Dvapara Yuga. The most famous events in this yuga were Lord Vishnu's fifth, sixth and seventh incarnations as Vamana, Parashurama and Ramachandra respectively. The Dharma bull, which symbolises morality, stood on three legs during this period. It had all four in the Satya Yuga and two in the later Dvapara Yuga. Currently, in the immoral age of Kali, it stands on one leg. The average lifespan of the Treta Yuga is 1,296,000 years.



Avatars of Vishnu in Treta yuga

5. VAMANA (Dwarf) Avatar: ( Treta Yuga ). The legend associated with this Avatar has it that the valorous demon- king Bali , a descendant of Hiranyakashipu , empowered by severe penance, defeated Indra , the king of the Devas and conquered the whole world. Fearing that he would overcome all three worlds ( Swarga , Marta and Patala or heaven, earth and the nether worlds), the Devas appealed to Vishnu . Taking birth in a Brahmin family and growing up to be a dwarf, Vishnu approached Bali for alms when the latter was performing a religious sacrifice. Bali, in an expansive mood promised him whatever he wanted - which was as much land as he could cover in three strides. Vishnu then covered heaven and earth in two strides to emancipate the Devas and banished Bali to the nether world.

6. PARASHURAM Avatar : (end of Satya Yuga or in the Treta Yuga as per different scholars). Vishnu took birth as a Brahman (priest) in this Avatar to free the Brahmans from the depredations of the Kshatriyas (warrior caste) who had become arrogant oppressors of the Brahmans . His name derives from the axe-like weapon ( Parsu ) he carried - a gift from Shiva . He annihilated the Kshatriyas in battles twenty-one times. Parashuram and Rama , the seventh Avatar , are generally depicted as living at the same time even though the former is said to have appeared in this world before Rama .

7. RAMA Avatar : ( Treta Yuga ). Vishnu , in this Avatar , incarnates himself as Rama , the Kshatriya king central to the Ramayana epic. By far one of the most popular heroes (along with Krishna ) of Hindu mythology, Rama exemplifies the ideal, son, king, father and man. The legend, on the one hand, is a romantic exploit of good triumphing over evil (the slaying of Ravana , the demon-king, by Rama ). On another plane, it is a complex dissertation on love, war, brotherhood, fidelity, societal customs and traditions etc. 




The evidence from different sources supports the notion of a complete Yuga Cycle of 24,000 years, comprised of an ascending and descending cycle of 12,000 years each. This brings us to the question of the relative durations of the different Yugas in the Yuga Cycle, and the transitional periods, which occur at the beginning and end of each Yuga, and are known as Sandhya (dawn) and Sandhyansa (twilight) respectively. The following values are provided in the Sanskrit texts for the duration of the Yugas and their respective dawns and twilights.

  • Satya Yuga (Golden Age) : 4000 years + 400 years dawn + 400 years twilight = 4800 years

  • Treta Yuga (Silver Age): 3000 years + 300 years dawn + 300 years twilight = 3600 years

  • Dwapara Yuga (Bronze Age) : 2000 years + 200 years dawn + 200 years twilight = 2400 years

  • Kali Yuga (Iron Age) : 1000 years + 100 years dawn + 100 years twilight = 1200 years

The ages see a gradual decline of dharma, wisdom, knowledge, intellectual capability, life span, emotional and physical strength.

  • Satya Yuga :- Virtue reigns supreme. Human stature was 21 cubits. Average human lifespan was 100,000 years.
  • Treta Yuga : - There was 3 quarter virtue & 1 quarter sin. Normal human stature was 14 cubits. Average human lifespan was 10,000 years.
  • Dwapar Yuga : - There was 1 half virtue & 1 half sin. Normal human stature was 7 cubits. Average human lifespan was 1000 years.
  • Kali Yuga : - There was 1 quarter virtue & 3 quarter sin. Normal human stature was 3.5 cubits. Average human lifespan will be 100 years. Towards the end of the Yuga this will come down to 20 years.


Read Our Blog Related To Hinduism..